Fact Sheet about the College

The leadership and membership of the American College of Pediatricians endeavor to enable all children to reach their optimal physical and emotional health and well-being through the promotion of high quality medical care, loving authoritative parenting and the recognition of the importance of the fundamental father-mother family unit. The College has members representing forty-seven states, from Hawaii to California to Texas to New York to Florida, and five additional countries. Membership is open to board-certified pediatricians, as well as physicians in training and other ancillary health professionals committed to the care of infants, children, adolescents and young adults.


The American College of Pediatricians was founded in 2002 by a group of pediatricians who saw the need for a pediatric organization, based in scientific truths and moral absolutes, that valued the sanctity of human life from conception to natural death and recognized the importance of the fundamental mother-father family unit in the rearing of children. The first official meeting of the newly formed college was held in Boston in 2002. Since its inception, the College has issued position statements on matters unique to children and continues to issue policy papers derived from quality research.

Mission Statement

The Mission of the College is to enable all children to reach their optimal physical and emotional health and well-being. To this end, we recognize the basic father-mother family unit, within marriage, to be the optimal setting for childhood development, but pledge our support to all children, regardless of their circumstances.

Structure and Governance

The College is a not-for-profit Tennessee corporation organized for scientific and educational purposes, exempt from taxes under Section 501(c) (3) of the United States Internal Revenue Code. The College is governed by a fifteen member Board of Directors elected to two-year terms by members in annual national elections. The Board rules in accordance with its Bylaws, which include the mission, vision and value statements as well as the College core values and objectives.

The Executive Committee consists of the President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer and Past President who are elected by the Membership to two year terms. The current officers are:


PRESIDENT: Michelle A. Cretella, MD, Westerly, RI

VICE PRESIDENT: Quentin Van Meter, MD, Atlanta, GA

SECRETARY: Patricia Lee June, MD, Moultrie, GA

TREASURER: Randolph Matthews, MD, Whiteville, NC

PAST PRESIDENT: Den A. Trumbull, MD, Montgomery, AL

Sources of Funding: The College’s activities are solely funded through membership dues and contributions from dedicated donors.

%d bloggers like this: